Directory in progress! This resource will be developed more thoroughly through 2021!  If you're interested in contributing product names and photos, please contact me. The goal of this directory is to locate safe foods and products, photograph them, and provide reviews as a community. Feel free to create an account and review the existing listings so far.  Let's build a worldwide resource together!

Trillium

Trillium
byTrillium, October 5, 2021
Clover Garden Soaps: Lard and Lye Soap
I made my own soaps from lard until it was time for my septic tank 3yr inspection by the county. Turns out you do not want to put fats down your septic. Not even soap fats. The guy I use is really good who inspects our tank and he has taught me best practices over the years with managing our septic tank and says I probably have the best septic in the county! With septic tank inspections every three years you really need to be careful what you use down the drain. He showed me how the oil just hardens up in the cold tank and it doesn't break down and floats on top and causes problems. You could literally see that stuff just floating there. I also stopped using my home made clothes washing soap too.
byTrillium, October 5, 2021
Essential Depot Grass Fed Beef Tallow
We used to buy pork fat at New Seasons but many times it was not available. It was super pricey too. Being able to buy this off of Amazon is something I plan to do. It really is better to cook with animal fats like our grandmothers did.
byTrillium, October 5, 2021
Smithfield Thick Cut Bacon
Search online for yourself about how harmful these are to your gut and especially for children.
byTrillium, October 5, 2021
Boar's Head Branded Deluxe Ham
I have avoided nitrate meats for at least a couple of decades now. Even the experts say do not feed a child more than one hotdog a month since they know it is bad for kids and they use nitrates. The reason is they use nitrates in the meat to keep it from spoiling. Not does it it kill harmful bacteria in the meat but it also does the same in your gut and you really want to protect your gut microbiome. Hempler's make a ham with just water, salt, celery powder and a better choice than those that use these horrible preservatives.
byTrillium, October 5, 2021
Winco The Bake Shop Sourdough Bread
Going Low Sal is a huge paradigm shift for us. The thought of making my own bread was off putting for a low sal diet. I had never been good at baking bread and refused to try anymore. When I read there is an easy way to just buy a low sal bread I was thrilled. We shop at Winco for many of our food items so this makes it a very easy change. Plus we love sourdough. I talked to a guy at King Arthur's Flour company and they stopped selling any enriched flour about a decade ago. They also stopped selling any bleached flour too. He explained that many decades ago flour was enriched here because they found that many folks were not eating enough of the right foods and were deficient. So they put these synthetic vitamins in the flour to help off set all that. But if you eat well you really don't need to be taking these vitamins and Harvard had done studies and then came out saying taking vitamin supplements does more harm than good. We really are stuck in the past with enriching and bleaching flours for baked goods.
byTrillium, October 5, 2021
Haagen Dazs Chocolate Ice Cream
Haagen Dazs was bought out by a big food company and I have noticed some differences. It is softer than it used to be. They wouldn't commit to cane sugar either so not sure if they use beet sugar. But it is the only brand that keeps the ingredients simple and the fewest. It also doesn't substitute cheap gums like guar etc for cream which is now so widely done. It is pricey. I used to just buy vanilla but now going low sal I will make the huge sacrifice of eating this chocolate version : )
byTrillium, October 5, 2021
Wasa sourdough whole grain rye crispbread cracker
I have a Nordic family (Icelandic, Swedish & Danish) and this is what they would have around the house. The adults liked these crackers but the kids not so much. I just wonder if these older style crackers really were a better choice and what our guts were more adapted to. I plan to start using these again. Great with butter and/or cheese and sliced meats. It was inexpensive and you just break off what you want from these huge crackers. They packaged them in a paper wrapper and they don't go bad or stale quickly and can keep them in the cupboard for extended periods.
byTrillium, October 5, 2021
Hemplers Uncured No Sugar Bacon
I have been buying this bacon for many years at Costco. They come in a two pack and we freeze them. I bake my bacon and it comes out great. The only thing I am not sure about is the fact they use celery powder and not sure if that is low sal. We also buy Hemplers Uncured Ham at Fred Meyer too and it also uses celery powder. The ingredients are very simple just water, salt and celery powder. None of those cancer causing nitrates!

Products recently added